top of page

Traditional Christmas pudding

Apparently Traditional Christmas pudding has made a big comeback with UK families.  Do you serve one at Christmas or something else?



 It’s always been a tradition in my family, and the Grandma Myers Christmas pudding recipe has been handed down and is still cooked today.

 


Grandma Myers began perfecting the recipe in 1977, reviewing each year for taste.  she made one for herself and also for family members. She used a Mason Cash & co giant mixing bowl to make it. When I was young, I started helping by cutting the fruit and making the breadcrumbs, which both took a while and were not my favourite jobs! The best part was the stirring of the final mix and making a wish for Christmas. Everyone had a stir and made their wish. The smell was divine. The puddings were then steamed on the stove for hours and then enjoyed on Christmas Day. The recipe doesn't contain the full method, as it's in my head! And there are probably more efficient ways to bake it now.


When my lovely grandma died in 1988, grandad wanted someone to carry on the family tradition of cooking the puddings. As I had been her helper, he asked me if I would take on her role. I agreed and there was an official handing over of the giant mixing bowl ceremony.




The giant bowl has been used to make puddings for lots of people over the years. My grandma probably made one for her sisters and her daughters, I used to make one for my grandad, my mam and still do for my aunty. I used to make one for my step dad. Sadly, some of those people are no longer with us and it always made me sad that there was one less pudding to make that year. But this year there’s an extra one, as I’m making one for my son and girlfriend for their first Christmas in their own home.

 

Puddings have to be made early. So again this year as I dust off the giant bowl and turn on the Christmas carols, I’ll think of all the people who’ve enjoyed the puddings over the years and I’ll make a Christmas wish.


2 views0 comments

Commenti


bottom of page